Book Spotlight! Bridget Crack by Rachel Leary

Bridget Crack Book Cover Bridget Crack
Rachel Leary
Literary Fiction
Allen & Unwin Australia
1 August 2017
Ebook, Paperback
320

Van Diemen's Land, 1826.

When Bridget Crack arrives in the colony, she is just grateful to be on dry land. But finding the life of an indentured domestic servant intolerable, she pushes back and is punished for her insubordination-sent from one place to another, each significantly worse than the last. Too late, she realises the place she has ended up is the worst of all: the 'Interior,' where the hard cases are sent-a brutally hard life with a cruel master, miles from civilisation.

She runs from there and finds herself imprisoned by the impenetrable Tasmanian wilderness. What she finds there-what finds her-is Matt Sheedy, a man on the run, who saves her from certain death. Her precarious existence among volatile and murderous bushrangers is a different kind of hell and, surrounded by roaring rivers and towering columns of rock, hunted by soldiers and at the mercy of killers, Bridget finds herself in an impossible situation. In the face of terrible darkness, what will she have to do to survive?

A gripping and moving story of a woman's struggle for survival in a beautiful and brutal landscape, Bridget Crack is a unique and deeply accomplished novel by a rare talent.

Bridget Crack by Rachel Leary is published by Allen & Unwin, RRP $29.99.

 

Purchase Links

Allen & Unwin * Amazon Australia * Booktopia

 

Add to your reading list on

Goodreads

 

My Thoughts On The Book

Bridget Crack by Rachel Leary is set in colonial 1800s in Van Diemen’s Land (Tasmania). The depictions and hellish moments Bridget faces were somewhat frightening. Through those scenario's that she faces, you could feel empathy for her character. She was sent to the Colony from England and her character never seemed to get a break in the bad scenarios that she faces in the story. An unexpected finale in a bit of a disjointed read, but nonetheless, a read that is gripping in some chapters.
Review copy received from Allen & Unwin Australia

 

242 total views, 4 views today

Book Spotlight! Beautiful Messy Love by Tess Woods

Beautiful Messy Love Book Cover Beautiful Messy Love
Tess Woods
Contemporary Fiction
HarperCollins Publishers Australia
24 July 2017
Ebook, Paperback
366

When football star Nick Harding hobbles into the Black Salt Cafe the morning after the night before, he is served by Anna, a waitress with haunted-looking eyes and no interest in footballers, famous or otherwise. Nick is instantly drawn to this exotic, intelligent girl. But a relationship between them risks shame for her conservative refugee family and backlash for Nick that could ruin his career.

Meanwhile, Nick's sister, Lily, is struggling to finish her medical degree. When she meets Toby, it seems that for the first time she is following her heart, not the expectations of others. Yet what starts out as a passionate affair with a man still grieving after his wife's death slips quickly into dangerous dependency.

Scarred by tragedy each in their own way, these warm, hopeful couples must overcome prejudice and heartbreak to prove just how much they will give for beautiful messy love.

A gorgeous, hard-hitting novel that touches on celebrity, asylum, cultural integration and family tragedy, this is a book with heart and soul.

Purchase Llinks

Amazon Australia * Booktopia * iBooks

 

Add to your reading list on

Goodreads

 

My Thoughts On The Book

I liked each of the characters in this story. I could not have predicted the way the story would eventuate, as it was such an up and down read with numerous surprise moments. A lot of emotional baggage and turmoil portrayed in the story, but also, some uplifting moments were depicted. Beautiful Messy Love by Tess Woods is a very aptly titled novel for its up and down emotion depictions.
Review copy received from HarperCollins Publishers Australia

233 total views, 4 views today

New Release! Close To Heaven by Pamela Clare

Close To Heaven Book Cover Close To Heaven
Colorado High Country #5
Pamela Clare
Contemporary Romance
26 October 2017
Ebook
247

Rain Minear has fantasized about finding herself in Joe Moffat’s arms for years. It’s just her luck that the night it finally happens, he’s carrying her into the emergency room. It’s Joe who steps up to help her when a tragedy brings her life crashing down. He gives her a place to stay, helps her get back on her feet, and even tries to save her Christmas, though he’s never cared for the holiday. But he’s far too ethical to sleep with a member of his staff, holding her at arms length despite the long-simmering attraction between them.

He has everything…

Haunted by ghosts from the past, Joe Moffat moved to Scarlet Springs to repay a debt. He’s struggled for years to keep his hands off Rain. She’s the general manager of his brewpub, and he is not that kind of boss. But, oh, she turns him on. More than that, she has the biggest heart of any woman he’s ever known. He’d do anything to see her smile again, even put up a Christmas tree and listen to carols, things he normally never does.

A season that changes two lives forever…

When a Rocky Mountain blizzard leaves them snowbound and alone together for days, they can no longer ignore their feelings for one another. As their passion turns to something deeper, it becomes clear to them both that this will be the most important Christmas of their lives.

Purchase Links

Amazon Australia * iBooks * Amazon US

 

 

Add to your reading list on

Goodreads

 

 

Thoughts On The Book

Joe’s character was a sweetheart all throughout the read, without a doubt. Rain did have many nice moments also. The emotional outpouring in the read was attention grabbing, and the hilarity with some of the secondary characters was entertaining which carried the story further. It was a good addition to the series overall.
Review copy received from the Author via Netgalley

 

 

 

Colorado High Country Series

    

283 total views, 4 views today

Book Review! 5 Stars – Suddenly One Summer by Fleur McDonald

Suddenly One Summer Book Cover Suddenly One Summer
Fleur McDonald
Contemporary Fiction
Allen & Unwin Australia
25 October 2017
Paperback, Ebook
360

In the tradition of Red Dust, Suddenly One Summer is yet another classic rural romance novel by leading author, Fleur McDonald.

When Brianna Donahue was three years old, her mother mysteriously disappeared while farming in Merriwell Bay, Western Australia. Her body has never been found. Brianna works the same land with her father Russell, while almost single-handedly raising her two children as her husband Caleb works as a fly-in fly-out criminal lawyer in Perth.

One scorching summer's morning, her son Trent goes missing and, while frantically searching for him, Brianna must come to terms with the fact that her marriage has large cracks in it.

Over two thousand kilometres away in South Australia, Detective Dave Burrows receives a phone call reporting stolen sheep from an elderly farmer. When he and his partner Jack arrive at the farm, it's clear that Guy has early signs of dementia. Following a conversation with his wife Kim, Dave becomes intrigued with Guy's family history. Was there a sister, or was there not? No one seems to know.

So how will Dave's investigation impact Brianna's world? While battling the threat of bushfires back in Merriwell Bay, Brianna is faced with challenges that test her relationships with those she loves most. Suspenseful and incendiary, Suddenly One Summer is an intriguing and heartfelt story of the unlikely connections of life on the land.

Suddenly One Summer by Fleur McDonald is published by Allen & Unwin Australia, RRP $29.99.

Purchase Links

Allen & Unwin Australia * Booktopia * Angus & Robertson * Amazon Australia * iBooks Australia

 

Add to your reading list on

Goodreads

 

 

My Thoughts On The Book

Suddenly One Summer by Fleur McDonald is an enthralling read with surprising twists and merging stories. A read that portrays sadness, shock and happiness that flowed from one chapter to the next. Bri's character strength was a stand out. I was rapt with this novel. Suddenly One Summer is a book that I could not put down and a must for my fave reads list.
Review copy received from Allen & Unwin Australia

 

392 total views, 4 views today

New Release! Little Secrets by Anna Snoekstra

What happens when ambition trumps the truth?

A town reeling in the wake of tragedy…

An arsonist is on the loose in Colmstock, Australia, most recently burning down the town’s courthouse and killing a young boy who was trapped inside.

An aspiring journalist desperate for a story…

The clock is ticking for Rose Blakey. With nothing but rejections from newspapers piling up, her job pulling beers for cops at the local tavern isn’t enough to even cover rent. Rose needs a story—a big one.

A bizarre mystery…

In the weeks after the courthouse fire, porcelain replicas of Colmstock’s daughters begin turning up on doorsteps, terrifying parents and testing the limits of the town’s already fractured police force.

Rose may have finally found her story. But as her articles gain traction and the boundaries of her investigation blur, Colmstock is seized by a seething paranoia. Soon, no one is safe from suspicion. And when Rose’s attention turns to the mysterious stranger living in the rooms behind the tavern, neighbour turns on neighbour and the darkest side of self-preservation is revealed.

‘A smart and compulsive thriller that perfectly evokes the claustrophobia of small-town Australian life. I couldn’t put it down!’ Bestselling Australian author of The Rosie Project, Graeme Simsion

Purchase Links

Harlequin Australia  * Amazon Australia  *  iBooks  *  Angus & Robertson  *  Amazon US

 

Add to your reading list on

Goodreads

308 total views, 4 views today