New Release! Unearthed by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

We are the last of our kind. We will not fade into the dark. We will tell our story to the stars – we will be Undying.

When Earth intercepts a message from a long-extinct alien race, it seems like the solution the planet has been waiting for. The Undying’s advanced technology has the potential to undo massive environmental damage and turn lives around, and Gaia, the Undying’s former home planet, is a treasure trove waiting to be uncovered.

For Jules Addison and his fellow scholars, the discovery of an alien culture offers unprecedented opportunity for study… as long as scavengers like Amelia Radcliffe don’t loot everything first.

Despite their opposing reasons for smuggling themselves onto the alien planet’s surface, they’re both desperate to uncover the riches hidden in the Undying temples. Beset by rival scavenger gangs, Jules and Amelia form a fragile alliance… but both are keeping secrets that make trust nearly impossible. As they race to decode the ancient messages left by the alien race, Jules and Amelia must navigate the traps and trials within the Undying temple and stay one step ahead of the scavvers on their heels. They came to Gaia certain that they had far more to fear from their fellow humans than the ancient beings whose mysteries they’re trying to unravel.

But the more they learn about the Undying, the more Jules and Amelia start to feel like their presence in the temple is part of a grand design – one that could spell the end of the human race…

Unearthed by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner is published by Allen & Unwin Australia, RRP $19.99.

Purchase Links

Allen & Unwin Australia  *  Amazon Australia  *  Booktopia  *  iBooks

 

 

Add to your reading list on

Goodreads

219 total views, 10 views today

New Release! Six Ways To Sunday by Karly Lane

Six Ways To Sunday Book Cover Six Ways To Sunday
Karly Lane
Contemporary Romance
Allen & Unwin Australia
22 November 2017
Ebook, Paperback
369

When city naturopath Rilee Summers meets gorgeous farmer Dan Kincaid, sparks fly. A whirlwind romance follows, and the next thing Rilee knows she's married and living on her husband's family property in a small rural community.

Never one to shy from a challenge, Rilee is determined to win over her in-laws and the townsfolk of nearby Pallaburra, but her city ways and outspoken views only seem to alienate her further.

Opening her own naturopathy practice has always been her dream. Although Pallaburra isn't Sydney, and despite the fact she's not exactly inundated with new clients, she's not ready to give up. Things get even worse for Rilee when she champions the issue of teen pregnancies in the deeply conservative town.

Worn down by the ill-will towards her and what she sees as Dan's lack of support, Rilee flees the station to think about the future. Can her marriage survive - or is she destined to leave Dan and move back to the city?

Six Ways to Sunday is a rip-roaring tale about a woman determined to stand up for her convictions even at the risk of jeopardising the future she envisaged with the man she loves.

Six Ways To Sunday by Karly Lane is published by Allen & Unwin Australia, RRP $29.99.

Purchase Links

Allen & Unwin Australia * Amazon Australia * Booktopia * iBooks

 

Add to your reading list on

Goodreads

 

My Thoughts

Love, love, love this book! I was completely captivated by Rilee and Dan’s characters and the many momentous hurdles they seemed to face in the story. The adversaries of Ellen and Jacob provided enough friction in the story that was beyond frustrating for the romance reader in me who is all for a happily ever after finale 🙂 Especially since these two characters were Dan’s parents! Even so, you could not dislike these adversarial characters as they too were pivotal, and whom held their own complications that blended well with Rilee and Dan’s story arc. There were twists and surprises in the read that added to the outstanding-ness in a story that was already an impressive read. I cannot rave enough about Six Ways To Sunday by Karly Lane, which is an easy fit in my top ten reads this year. It is a book that I could not put down and would go back and read again and again. 😀
A big thank you to Allen & Unwin Australia for the opportunity of reviewing this book.

206 total views, 8 views today

Book Spotlight! The Red Ribbon by Lucy Adlington

The Red Ribbon Book Cover The Red Ribbon
Lucy Adlington
Young Adult
Bonnier
25 October 2017
Ebook, Paperback
320

Rose, Ella, Marta and Carla. In another life we might all have been friends together. This was Birchwood. For readers of The Diary of Anne Frank and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas.

As fourteen-year-old Ella begins her first day at work she steps into a world of silks, seams, scissors, pins, hems and trimmings. She is a dressmaker, but this is no ordinary sewing workshop. Hers are no ordinary clients. Ella has joined the seamstresses of Birkenau-Auschwitz, as readers may recognise it. Every dress she makes could mean the difference between life and death. And this place is all about survival.

Ella seeks refuge from this reality, and from haunting memories, in her work and in the world of fashion and fabrics. She is faced with painful decisions about how far she is prepared to go to survive. Is her love of clothes and creativity nothing more than collaboration with her captors, or is it a means of staying alive? Will she fight for herself alone, or will she trust the importance of an ever-deepening friendship with Rose? One thing weaves through the colours of couture gowns and camp mud - a red ribbon, given to Ella as a symbol of hope.

The Red Ribbon by Lucy Adlington is published by Bonnier, RRP $19.99.

Purchase Links

Allen & Unwin Australia * Amazon Australia * Booktopia * iBooks

 

Add to your reading list on

Goodreads

 

My Thoughts

The Red Ribbon by Lucy Adlington was such an affecting read. The story depicts the inhumane treatment of the young and old in Birchwood. But amongst the hell and torments, the story also portrayed hope, triumph with some human acts of kindness that stood out amongst the hellish, worst of times, in unimaginable situations. The challenges faced by Ella, Rose and the wealth of secondary characters pulled at emotions, bringing to the forefront heartache at the torments they faced in the story. But the finale held promise for some characters and devastation for others.
Review copy received from Allen & Unwin Australia

280 total views, 8 views today

New Release! Two Weeks ‘Til Christmas by Laura Greaves

Two Weeks 'Til Christmas Book Cover Two Weeks 'Til Christmas
Laura Greaves
Contemporary Romance
Penguin Random House
13 November 2017
Ebook, Paperback
288

Synopsis

Claire Thorne never expected to be heading home for Christmas in Bindallarah - the small country town she left behind thirteen years ago and spends every day trying to forget. But then again she never expected fate to bring Scotty, her oldest friend and first love back into her life. Or for Scotty to tell her that he's about to get married - to a girl he barely knows.

With only two weeks til Scotty's big day on Christmas Eve, Claire's determined to make up for lost time and help plan his wedding. And while she's at it, she can make sure he's not making a life-changing mistake. After all, it's what any good friend would do.

But is two weeks enough time for Claire to find the answers she needs? And will she be brave enough to question her own heart and the choices she's made along the way?

Two Weeks 'Til Christmas by Laura Greaves is published by Random House Australia, RRP $32.99.

Purchase Links

Penguin Random House  *  Amazon Australia  *  Booktopia  *  iBooks

 

Add to your reading list on

Goodreads

 

My Thoughts

Two Weeks ‘Til Christmas by author Laura Greaves is a cute friends to lovers, second chance at romance read. I liked Claire’s character who had her fair share of hurdles in the story. The story flowed well and had me engrossed from the first chapter. Claire and Scotty had obvious attraction sparks that made for a nice HEA read.
Review copy received from Penguin Random House Australia

373 total views, 7 views today

Book Review! 5 Stars – Suddenly One Summer by Fleur McDonald

Suddenly One Summer Book Cover Suddenly One Summer
Fleur McDonald
Contemporary Fiction
Allen & Unwin Australia
25 October 2017
Paperback, Ebook
360

In the tradition of Red Dust, Suddenly One Summer is yet another classic rural romance novel by leading author, Fleur McDonald.

When Brianna Donahue was three years old, her mother mysteriously disappeared while farming in Merriwell Bay, Western Australia. Her body has never been found. Brianna works the same land with her father Russell, while almost single-handedly raising her two children as her husband Caleb works as a fly-in fly-out criminal lawyer in Perth.

One scorching summer's morning, her son Trent goes missing and, while frantically searching for him, Brianna must come to terms with the fact that her marriage has large cracks in it.

Over two thousand kilometres away in South Australia, Detective Dave Burrows receives a phone call reporting stolen sheep from an elderly farmer. When he and his partner Jack arrive at the farm, it's clear that Guy has early signs of dementia. Following a conversation with his wife Kim, Dave becomes intrigued with Guy's family history. Was there a sister, or was there not? No one seems to know.

So how will Dave's investigation impact Brianna's world? While battling the threat of bushfires back in Merriwell Bay, Brianna is faced with challenges that test her relationships with those she loves most. Suspenseful and incendiary, Suddenly One Summer is an intriguing and heartfelt story of the unlikely connections of life on the land.

Suddenly One Summer by Fleur McDonald is published by Allen & Unwin Australia, RRP $29.99.

Purchase Links

Allen & Unwin Australia * Booktopia * Angus & Robertson * Amazon Australia * iBooks Australia

 

Add to your reading list on

Goodreads

 

 

My Thoughts On The Book

Suddenly One Summer by Fleur McDonald is an enthralling read with surprising twists and merging stories. A read that portrays sadness, shock and happiness that flowed from one chapter to the next. Bri's character strength was a stand out. I was rapt with this novel. Suddenly One Summer is a book that I could not put down and a must for my fave reads list.
Review copy received from Allen & Unwin Australia

 

555 total views, 7 views today