New Release! White Gum Creek by Nicole Hurley-Moore

A rural romance with plenty of heart

Nick Langtree has lived reclusively on his farm, Winters Hill, ever since the tragic death of his wife. On the occasional trip into nearby White Gum Creek he keeps to himself and that’s the way he likes it. And though over the last six years the townsfolk have tried to reach out to Nick, he’s pushed them all away.

Whenever Nick comes into the Gumnut Bakery, Natasha Duroz tries to engage him in conversation when she serves him. There’s something about him that intrigues Tash, but she’s not sure if it’s because she feels sorry for him or there’s something more.

At last encouraged by the warmth of a few old and new friends, Nick gradually begins to re-engage with the outside world. Then, suddenly some minor vandalism on his farm escalates and odd things begin to happen on Winters Hill. Is someone out to hurt Nick or have his years of solitude been playing tricks on his mind?

This entrancing novel is about overcoming heartache and loss through the power of friendship and love.

White Gum Creek by author Nicole Hurley-Moore is published by Allen & Unwin,
RRP $29.99.

Purchase Links

Allen & Unwin Australia * Amazon Australia * iBooks * Google Play

 

Add to your reading list on

Goodreads

148 total views, 14 views today

New Release! The Last Train by Sue Lawrence

At 7 p.m. on 28 December 1879, a violent storm batters the newly built rail bridge across the River Tay, close to the city of Dundee. Ann Craig is waiting for her husband, the owner of a large local jute mill, to return home. From her window Ann sees a shocking sight as the bridge collapses, and the lights of the train in which he is travelling plough down into the freezing river waters.

As Ann manages the grief and expectations of family and friends amid a town mourning its loved ones, doubt is cast on whether Robert was on the train after all. If not, where is he? And who is the mysterious woman who is first to be washed ashore?

In 2015, Fiona Craig wakes to find that her partner Pete, an Australian restaurateur, has cleared the couple’s bank account before abandoning his car at the local airport and disappearing. When the police discover his car is stolen, Fiona conducts her own investigation into Pete’s background, slowly uncovering dark secrets and strange parallels with the events of 1879.

The Last Train by Sue Lawrence is published by Allen & Unwin Australia, RRP $29.99.

Purchase Links

Allen & Unwin Australia  *  Amazon Australia  *  Google Play

 

Add to your reading list on

Goodreads

113 total views, 11 views today

New Release! Unearthed by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

We are the last of our kind. We will not fade into the dark. We will tell our story to the stars – we will be Undying.

When Earth intercepts a message from a long-extinct alien race, it seems like the solution the planet has been waiting for. The Undying’s advanced technology has the potential to undo massive environmental damage and turn lives around, and Gaia, the Undying’s former home planet, is a treasure trove waiting to be uncovered.

For Jules Addison and his fellow scholars, the discovery of an alien culture offers unprecedented opportunity for study… as long as scavengers like Amelia Radcliffe don’t loot everything first.

Despite their opposing reasons for smuggling themselves onto the alien planet’s surface, they’re both desperate to uncover the riches hidden in the Undying temples. Beset by rival scavenger gangs, Jules and Amelia form a fragile alliance… but both are keeping secrets that make trust nearly impossible. As they race to decode the ancient messages left by the alien race, Jules and Amelia must navigate the traps and trials within the Undying temple and stay one step ahead of the scavvers on their heels. They came to Gaia certain that they had far more to fear from their fellow humans than the ancient beings whose mysteries they’re trying to unravel.

But the more they learn about the Undying, the more Jules and Amelia start to feel like their presence in the temple is part of a grand design – one that could spell the end of the human race…

Unearthed by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner is published by Allen & Unwin Australia, RRP $19.99.

Purchase Links

Allen & Unwin Australia  *  Amazon Australia  *  Booktopia  *  iBooks

 

 

Add to your reading list on

Goodreads

790 total views, 2 views today

New Release! Six Ways To Sunday by Karly Lane

Six Ways To Sunday Book Cover Six Ways To Sunday
Karly Lane
Contemporary Romance
Allen & Unwin Australia
22 November 2017
Ebook, Paperback
369

When city naturopath Rilee Summers meets gorgeous farmer Dan Kincaid, sparks fly. A whirlwind romance follows, and the next thing Rilee knows she's married and living on her husband's family property in a small rural community.

Never one to shy from a challenge, Rilee is determined to win over her in-laws and the townsfolk of nearby Pallaburra, but her city ways and outspoken views only seem to alienate her further.

Opening her own naturopathy practice has always been her dream. Although Pallaburra isn't Sydney, and despite the fact she's not exactly inundated with new clients, she's not ready to give up. Things get even worse for Rilee when she champions the issue of teen pregnancies in the deeply conservative town.

Worn down by the ill-will towards her and what she sees as Dan's lack of support, Rilee flees the station to think about the future. Can her marriage survive - or is she destined to leave Dan and move back to the city?

Six Ways to Sunday is a rip-roaring tale about a woman determined to stand up for her convictions even at the risk of jeopardising the future she envisaged with the man she loves.

Six Ways To Sunday by Karly Lane is published by Allen & Unwin Australia, RRP $29.99.

Purchase Links

Allen & Unwin Australia * Amazon Australia * Booktopia * iBooks

 

Add to your reading list on

Goodreads

 

My Thoughts

Love, love, love this book! I was completely captivated by Rilee and Dan’s characters and the many momentous hurdles they seemed to face in the story. The adversaries of Ellen and Jacob provided enough friction in the story that was beyond frustrating for the romance reader in me who is all for a happily ever after finale 🙂 Especially since these two characters were Dan’s parents! Even so, you could not dislike these adversarial characters as they too were pivotal, and whom held their own complications that blended well with Rilee and Dan’s story arc. There were twists and surprises in the read that added to the outstanding-ness in a story that was already an impressive read. I cannot rave enough about Six Ways To Sunday by Karly Lane, which is an easy fit in my top ten reads this year. It is a book that I could not put down and would go back and read again and again. 😀
A big thank you to Allen & Unwin Australia for the opportunity of reviewing this book.

733 total views, 1 views today

Book Spotlight! The Red Ribbon by Lucy Adlington

The Red Ribbon Book Cover The Red Ribbon
Lucy Adlington
Young Adult
Bonnier
25 October 2017
Ebook, Paperback
320

Rose, Ella, Marta and Carla. In another life we might all have been friends together. This was Birchwood. For readers of The Diary of Anne Frank and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas.

As fourteen-year-old Ella begins her first day at work she steps into a world of silks, seams, scissors, pins, hems and trimmings. She is a dressmaker, but this is no ordinary sewing workshop. Hers are no ordinary clients. Ella has joined the seamstresses of Birkenau-Auschwitz, as readers may recognise it. Every dress she makes could mean the difference between life and death. And this place is all about survival.

Ella seeks refuge from this reality, and from haunting memories, in her work and in the world of fashion and fabrics. She is faced with painful decisions about how far she is prepared to go to survive. Is her love of clothes and creativity nothing more than collaboration with her captors, or is it a means of staying alive? Will she fight for herself alone, or will she trust the importance of an ever-deepening friendship with Rose? One thing weaves through the colours of couture gowns and camp mud - a red ribbon, given to Ella as a symbol of hope.

The Red Ribbon by Lucy Adlington is published by Bonnier, RRP $19.99.

Purchase Links

Allen & Unwin Australia * Amazon Australia * Booktopia * iBooks

 

Add to your reading list on

Goodreads

 

My Thoughts

The Red Ribbon by Lucy Adlington was such an affecting read. The story depicts the inhumane treatment of the young and old in Birchwood. But amongst the hell and torments, the story also portrayed hope, triumph with some human acts of kindness that stood out amongst the hellish, worst of times, in unimaginable situations. The challenges faced by Ella, Rose and the wealth of secondary characters pulled at emotions, bringing to the forefront heartache at the torments they faced in the story. But the finale held promise for some characters and devastation for others.
Review copy received from Allen & Unwin Australia

730 total views, 1 views today