New Release! Two Weeks ‘Til Christmas by Laura Greaves

Two Weeks 'Til Christmas Book Cover Two Weeks 'Til Christmas
Laura Greaves
Contemporary Romance
Penguin Random House
13 November 2017
Ebook, Paperback
288

Synopsis

Claire Thorne never expected to be heading home for Christmas in Bindallarah - the small country town she left behind thirteen years ago and spends every day trying to forget. But then again she never expected fate to bring Scotty, her oldest friend and first love back into her life. Or for Scotty to tell her that he's about to get married - to a girl he barely knows.

With only two weeks til Scotty's big day on Christmas Eve, Claire's determined to make up for lost time and help plan his wedding. And while she's at it, she can make sure he's not making a life-changing mistake. After all, it's what any good friend would do.

But is two weeks enough time for Claire to find the answers she needs? And will she be brave enough to question her own heart and the choices she's made along the way?

Two Weeks 'Til Christmas by Laura Greaves is published by Random House Australia, RRP $32.99.

Purchase Links

Penguin Random House  *  Amazon Australia  *  Booktopia  *  iBooks

 

Add to your reading list on

Goodreads

 

My Thoughts

Two Weeks ‘Til Christmas by author Laura Greaves is a cute friends to lovers, second chance at romance read. I liked Claire’s character who had her fair share of hurdles in the story. The story flowed well and had me engrossed from the first chapter. Claire and Scotty had obvious attraction sparks that made for a nice HEA read.
Review copy received from Penguin Random House Australia

737 total views, no views today

Book Review! 5 Stars – Suddenly One Summer by Fleur McDonald

Suddenly One Summer Book Cover Suddenly One Summer
Fleur McDonald
Contemporary Fiction
Allen & Unwin Australia
25 October 2017
Paperback, Ebook
360

In the tradition of Red Dust, Suddenly One Summer is yet another classic rural romance novel by leading author, Fleur McDonald.

When Brianna Donahue was three years old, her mother mysteriously disappeared while farming in Merriwell Bay, Western Australia. Her body has never been found. Brianna works the same land with her father Russell, while almost single-handedly raising her two children as her husband Caleb works as a fly-in fly-out criminal lawyer in Perth.

One scorching summer's morning, her son Trent goes missing and, while frantically searching for him, Brianna must come to terms with the fact that her marriage has large cracks in it.

Over two thousand kilometres away in South Australia, Detective Dave Burrows receives a phone call reporting stolen sheep from an elderly farmer. When he and his partner Jack arrive at the farm, it's clear that Guy has early signs of dementia. Following a conversation with his wife Kim, Dave becomes intrigued with Guy's family history. Was there a sister, or was there not? No one seems to know.

So how will Dave's investigation impact Brianna's world? While battling the threat of bushfires back in Merriwell Bay, Brianna is faced with challenges that test her relationships with those she loves most. Suspenseful and incendiary, Suddenly One Summer is an intriguing and heartfelt story of the unlikely connections of life on the land.

Suddenly One Summer by Fleur McDonald is published by Allen & Unwin Australia, RRP $29.99.

Purchase Links

Allen & Unwin Australia * Booktopia * Angus & Robertson * Amazon Australia * iBooks Australia

 

Add to your reading list on

Goodreads

 

 

My Thoughts On The Book

Suddenly One Summer by Fleur McDonald is an enthralling read with surprising twists and merging stories. A read that portrays sadness, shock and happiness that flowed from one chapter to the next. Bri's character strength was a stand out. I was rapt with this novel. Suddenly One Summer is a book that I could not put down and a must for my fave reads list.
Review copy received from Allen & Unwin Australia

 

760 total views, 1 views today

New Release! The Last Hours by Minette Walters

The Last Hours Book Cover The Last Hours
Minette Walters
Fiction, Historical Fiction
Allen & Unwin Australia
27 September 2017
Kindle, Paperback
568

For most, the Black Death is the end. For a brave few, it heralds a new beginning.

When the Black Death enters England through the port of Melcombe in Dorseteshire in June 1348, no one knows what manner of sickness it is or how it spreads and kills so quickly.

The Church proclaims it a punishment from God but Lady Anne of Develish has different ideas. With her brutal husband absent, she decides on more sensible ways to protect her people than the daily confessions of sin recommended by the Bishop. Anne gathers her serfs within the gates of Develish and refuses entry to outsiders, even to her husband.

She makes an enemy of her daughter by doing so, but her resolve is strengthened by the support of her leading serfs … until food stocks run low and the nerves of all are tested by their ignorance of what is happening in the world outside. The people of Develish are alive. But for how long? And what will they discover when the time comes for them to cross the moat?

 

The Last Hours is published by Allen & Unwin Australia, RRP $32.99.

Purchase Links

Allen & Unwin Australia * Amazon Australia * Angus & Robertson * iBooks * Amazon US

 

 

Add to your reading list on

Goodreads

 

My Thoughts On The Book

The Last Hours by Minette Walters was an absorbing story full of some charismatic characters and equally amounted vile, blackguard villains. A story that was set in a time of Lords and Serfs. Lady Anne's character was likeable from the start; strong and a contrast to the time depicted. The story leaves some unanswered questions, that will hopefully be answered in the next instalment from the author.
Review copy received from Allen & Unwin Australia

 

564 total views, no views today

New Release! Off Reservation by Bram Connolly

Happy new book release to author Bram Connolly! Off Reservation is available now and published by Allen & Unwin, RRP $29.99.

About Off Reservation by Bram Connolly

Australian Special Forces commander Matt Rix in another action packed adventure.

Ultra-tough and ultra-lethal, Australian Commando Captain Matt Rix is one of Special Forces’ most lethal operators. But when a training exercise goes horribly wrong, he is given an ultimatum that brings his world crashing down. There is only one choice left to him and that’s to go ‘off reservation’.

What follows is the frantic pursuit of escaped Taliban commander Faisal Khan. Chasing Khan across Turkey would be easy; stopping a nuclear weapon he has received from falling into the hands of the world’s most feared terrorist organisation, that’s going to be the hard part.

Rix might be disgraced and discarded, but he should never be underestimated. Nothing is ever as it seems…

Purchase Links

Allen & Unwin  *  Google Play  *  Amazon Australia  *  Booktopia

 

Add to your reading list on

Goodreads

 

Thoughts On The Book

Off Reservation was another intense read from author Bram Connolly, with a few extra characters amongst the already known cast, adding to a story that was action-packed with a hint of smexy for us romantics at heart. I could not wait to read this novel, having already read Mr Connolly’s The Fighting Season, I was waiting with high anticipation to see what would occur for his Matt Rix’s character. No disappointment here, I could not help but be drawn to Rix’s character again. Just when you think you have the story figured out, the author throws in a few left turns, having views of the story and the happenings within turned upside down, while continuing to turn each page with haste for what was to happen next in the story. I could rant and rave about the book, but I do not want to give any of this story away. There were likeable characters, with some antagonists throughout the story, and a few graphic moments revealed in chapters. An unmissable read and well worth the wait. Off Reservation by Bram Connelly is another novel for my fave reads list.
Review copy received from Allen & Unwin

 

More Books by Bram Connolly

1,569 total views, 1 views today

Q&A With Author Kerry McGinnis!

Today’s feature Q&A post is with author Kerry McGinnis! Secrets Of The Springs by Ms McGinnis releases in paperback format on July 17, and is also available on Ebook. Secrets Of The Springs is published by Penguin Random House, RRP $32.99.

What was the hardest scene to write?

I think the accident where Mark is trapped in the vehicle. I had trouble visualizing the inside of the cab and in the end got a box to represent the vehicle and tipped it on its side, then lay on the floor looking at it figuring out where everything was and what Orla would be able to see and reach. Sounds crazy but I’m not good with spatial stuff.

Can you tell us a scene that didn’t make the finished story for Secrets Of The Springs?

I can’t think of a particular scene that was cut. There were lots of adjustments and rewrites and unnecessary bits deleted but they weren’t scenes. It is hard to remember after so many rereads and rewrites, but basically the story is pretty much as it came to me when I sat down to work it out.

What is the first book you read that made you cry?

A novel called There Is No Armour. Howard Springs wrote it, the title comes from a line of poetry: There is no armour against Fate. It’s about the futility and cost of war, not to nations or economies but to ordinary people, the ones who are never asked before their lives are given over to it. It was poignant and beautiful and unbearably sad (and I was about sixteen!) He wrote a lot of books, old Howard but that was the one I liked most and read least because of its powerful effect on me.

How many hours a day do you write?

It varies. I go by output rather than time. If the writing is difficult I stay at my desk until I’ve produced two pages. Otherwise I just write until the rest of life – household or garden matters, or social stuff, overtakes me. I greatly enjoy the creative process and feel no pressure to finish anything quickly. The enjoyment is in the creation of my fictional world, and I feel quite lost when I finish a work.

What can readers expect next from you writing?

My next book which, like Wildhorse Creek and Tracking North is set in the Gulf Country and revolves around the lives of the family that own the pub in a tiny railhead ghost town, where twenty odd years before the drovers brought their mobs to truck to the coastal meat-works. I have just finished it and am now casting around for another story to keep me writing.

About Secrets Of The Springs by Kerry McGinnis

When Orla Macrae receives a letter asking her to return to the family cattle property where she grew up, she does so grudgingly. Her estranged uncle Palmer may be dying, but he is the last person she wants to see, not when she’s made a new life far away from where she lost so much. But on his deathbed he utters a few enigmatic words about a secret locked away and a clue as to its whereabouts.

Intrigued, Orla decides to stay, reconnecting with old friends and taking a chance on a long-time dream of opening the homestead to tourists. Continuing the search for her uncle’s elusive secret, she discovers far more than she bargained for – a shocking truth about her parents’ marriage, and the confession of a chilling murder.

Set in the stunning countryside north of the Barrier Ranges near Broken Hill, this is an authentic tale of life on the land and a gripping mystery about old family secrets and finding love in the harsh Australian bush.

Purchase Links

Penguin Random House  *  Amazon Australia  *  iBooks Australia  *  Booktopia

 

Add to your reading list on

Goodreads

947 total views, 1 views today