New Release! Six Ways To Sunday by Karly Lane

Six Ways To Sunday Book Cover Six Ways To Sunday
Karly Lane
Contemporary Romance
Allen & Unwin Australia
22 November 2017
Ebook, Paperback
369

When city naturopath Rilee Summers meets gorgeous farmer Dan Kincaid, sparks fly. A whirlwind romance follows, and the next thing Rilee knows she's married and living on her husband's family property in a small rural community.

Never one to shy from a challenge, Rilee is determined to win over her in-laws and the townsfolk of nearby Pallaburra, but her city ways and outspoken views only seem to alienate her further.

Opening her own naturopathy practice has always been her dream. Although Pallaburra isn't Sydney, and despite the fact she's not exactly inundated with new clients, she's not ready to give up. Things get even worse for Rilee when she champions the issue of teen pregnancies in the deeply conservative town.

Worn down by the ill-will towards her and what she sees as Dan's lack of support, Rilee flees the station to think about the future. Can her marriage survive - or is she destined to leave Dan and move back to the city?

Six Ways to Sunday is a rip-roaring tale about a woman determined to stand up for her convictions even at the risk of jeopardising the future she envisaged with the man she loves.

Six Ways To Sunday by Karly Lane is published by Allen & Unwin Australia, RRP $29.99.

Purchase Links

Allen & Unwin Australia * Amazon Australia * Booktopia * iBooks

 

Add to your reading list on

Goodreads

 

My Thoughts

Love, love, love this book! I was completely captivated by Rilee and Dan’s characters and the many momentous hurdles they seemed to face in the story. The adversaries of Ellen and Jacob provided enough friction in the story that was beyond frustrating for the romance reader in me who is all for a happily ever after finale 🙂 Especially since these two characters were Dan’s parents! Even so, you could not dislike these adversarial characters as they too were pivotal, and whom held their own complications that blended well with Rilee and Dan’s story arc. There were twists and surprises in the read that added to the outstanding-ness in a story that was already an impressive read. I cannot rave enough about Six Ways To Sunday by Karly Lane, which is an easy fit in my top ten reads this year. It is a book that I could not put down and would go back and read again and again. 😀
A big thank you to Allen & Unwin Australia for the opportunity of reviewing this book.

733 total views, 1 views today

Book Spotlight! The Red Ribbon by Lucy Adlington

The Red Ribbon Book Cover The Red Ribbon
Lucy Adlington
Young Adult
Bonnier
25 October 2017
Ebook, Paperback
320

Rose, Ella, Marta and Carla. In another life we might all have been friends together. This was Birchwood. For readers of The Diary of Anne Frank and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas.

As fourteen-year-old Ella begins her first day at work she steps into a world of silks, seams, scissors, pins, hems and trimmings. She is a dressmaker, but this is no ordinary sewing workshop. Hers are no ordinary clients. Ella has joined the seamstresses of Birkenau-Auschwitz, as readers may recognise it. Every dress she makes could mean the difference between life and death. And this place is all about survival.

Ella seeks refuge from this reality, and from haunting memories, in her work and in the world of fashion and fabrics. She is faced with painful decisions about how far she is prepared to go to survive. Is her love of clothes and creativity nothing more than collaboration with her captors, or is it a means of staying alive? Will she fight for herself alone, or will she trust the importance of an ever-deepening friendship with Rose? One thing weaves through the colours of couture gowns and camp mud - a red ribbon, given to Ella as a symbol of hope.

The Red Ribbon by Lucy Adlington is published by Bonnier, RRP $19.99.

Purchase Links

Allen & Unwin Australia * Amazon Australia * Booktopia * iBooks

 

Add to your reading list on

Goodreads

 

My Thoughts

The Red Ribbon by Lucy Adlington was such an affecting read. The story depicts the inhumane treatment of the young and old in Birchwood. But amongst the hell and torments, the story also portrayed hope, triumph with some human acts of kindness that stood out amongst the hellish, worst of times, in unimaginable situations. The challenges faced by Ella, Rose and the wealth of secondary characters pulled at emotions, bringing to the forefront heartache at the torments they faced in the story. But the finale held promise for some characters and devastation for others.
Review copy received from Allen & Unwin Australia

730 total views, 1 views today

Book Spotlight! Bridget Crack by Rachel Leary

Bridget Crack Book Cover Bridget Crack
Rachel Leary
Literary Fiction
Allen & Unwin Australia
1 August 2017
Ebook, Paperback
320

Van Diemen's Land, 1826.

When Bridget Crack arrives in the colony, she is just grateful to be on dry land. But finding the life of an indentured domestic servant intolerable, she pushes back and is punished for her insubordination-sent from one place to another, each significantly worse than the last. Too late, she realises the place she has ended up is the worst of all: the 'Interior,' where the hard cases are sent-a brutally hard life with a cruel master, miles from civilisation.

She runs from there and finds herself imprisoned by the impenetrable Tasmanian wilderness. What she finds there-what finds her-is Matt Sheedy, a man on the run, who saves her from certain death. Her precarious existence among volatile and murderous bushrangers is a different kind of hell and, surrounded by roaring rivers and towering columns of rock, hunted by soldiers and at the mercy of killers, Bridget finds herself in an impossible situation. In the face of terrible darkness, what will she have to do to survive?

A gripping and moving story of a woman's struggle for survival in a beautiful and brutal landscape, Bridget Crack is a unique and deeply accomplished novel by a rare talent.

Bridget Crack by Rachel Leary is published by Allen & Unwin, RRP $29.99.

 

Purchase Links

Allen & Unwin * Amazon Australia * Booktopia

 

Add to your reading list on

Goodreads

 

My Thoughts On The Book

Bridget Crack by Rachel Leary is set in colonial 1800s in Van Diemen’s Land (Tasmania). The depictions and hellish moments Bridget faces were somewhat frightening. Through those scenario's that she faces, you could feel empathy for her character. She was sent to the Colony from England and her character never seemed to get a break in the bad scenarios that she faces in the story. An unexpected finale in a bit of a disjointed read, but nonetheless, a read that is gripping in some chapters.
Review copy received from Allen & Unwin Australia

 

637 total views, 1 views today

Book Review! 5 Stars – Suddenly One Summer by Fleur McDonald

Suddenly One Summer Book Cover Suddenly One Summer
Fleur McDonald
Contemporary Fiction
Allen & Unwin Australia
25 October 2017
Paperback, Ebook
360

In the tradition of Red Dust, Suddenly One Summer is yet another classic rural romance novel by leading author, Fleur McDonald.

When Brianna Donahue was three years old, her mother mysteriously disappeared while farming in Merriwell Bay, Western Australia. Her body has never been found. Brianna works the same land with her father Russell, while almost single-handedly raising her two children as her husband Caleb works as a fly-in fly-out criminal lawyer in Perth.

One scorching summer's morning, her son Trent goes missing and, while frantically searching for him, Brianna must come to terms with the fact that her marriage has large cracks in it.

Over two thousand kilometres away in South Australia, Detective Dave Burrows receives a phone call reporting stolen sheep from an elderly farmer. When he and his partner Jack arrive at the farm, it's clear that Guy has early signs of dementia. Following a conversation with his wife Kim, Dave becomes intrigued with Guy's family history. Was there a sister, or was there not? No one seems to know.

So how will Dave's investigation impact Brianna's world? While battling the threat of bushfires back in Merriwell Bay, Brianna is faced with challenges that test her relationships with those she loves most. Suspenseful and incendiary, Suddenly One Summer is an intriguing and heartfelt story of the unlikely connections of life on the land.

Suddenly One Summer by Fleur McDonald is published by Allen & Unwin Australia, RRP $29.99.

Purchase Links

Allen & Unwin Australia * Booktopia * Angus & Robertson * Amazon Australia * iBooks Australia

 

Add to your reading list on

Goodreads

 

 

My Thoughts On The Book

Suddenly One Summer by Fleur McDonald is an enthralling read with surprising twists and merging stories. A read that portrays sadness, shock and happiness that flowed from one chapter to the next. Bri's character strength was a stand out. I was rapt with this novel. Suddenly One Summer is a book that I could not put down and a must for my fave reads list.
Review copy received from Allen & Unwin Australia

 

759 total views, no views today

New Release! The Last Hours by Minette Walters

The Last Hours Book Cover The Last Hours
Minette Walters
Fiction, Historical Fiction
Allen & Unwin Australia
27 September 2017
Kindle, Paperback
568

For most, the Black Death is the end. For a brave few, it heralds a new beginning.

When the Black Death enters England through the port of Melcombe in Dorseteshire in June 1348, no one knows what manner of sickness it is or how it spreads and kills so quickly.

The Church proclaims it a punishment from God but Lady Anne of Develish has different ideas. With her brutal husband absent, she decides on more sensible ways to protect her people than the daily confessions of sin recommended by the Bishop. Anne gathers her serfs within the gates of Develish and refuses entry to outsiders, even to her husband.

She makes an enemy of her daughter by doing so, but her resolve is strengthened by the support of her leading serfs … until food stocks run low and the nerves of all are tested by their ignorance of what is happening in the world outside. The people of Develish are alive. But for how long? And what will they discover when the time comes for them to cross the moat?

 

The Last Hours is published by Allen & Unwin Australia, RRP $32.99.

Purchase Links

Allen & Unwin Australia * Amazon Australia * Angus & Robertson * iBooks * Amazon US

 

 

Add to your reading list on

Goodreads

 

My Thoughts On The Book

The Last Hours by Minette Walters was an absorbing story full of some charismatic characters and equally amounted vile, blackguard villains. A story that was set in a time of Lords and Serfs. Lady Anne's character was likeable from the start; strong and a contrast to the time depicted. The story leaves some unanswered questions, that will hopefully be answered in the next instalment from the author.
Review copy received from Allen & Unwin Australia

 

564 total views, 1 views today